My like for cooking

I like cooking since I’m young. If you’re a Malaysian student, attended government secondary school, you should have took a subject called “Living Skills”, and there was a chapter about recipe of egg sandwich. That is my first recipe to work on. Having said that I was forbidden to go into the kitchen as it is my grandma’s territory.

My real cooking experience started in The Netherlands, when I was studying at Utrecht University. Scholarship is limited and the best way to survive is to cook by yourself. One day I saw my Dutch neighbour cooking his spaghetti bolognese (actually it’s tagliatelle, back then I can’t even differentiate spaghetti & tagliatelle). He bought a packet of tagliatelle (usually he eats 4), a jar of tomato sauce, a small can of concentrated tomato, minced beef and a plant for his dinner. A PLANT? That’s what I thought. It’s basil, to enhance the tomato basil sauce.

Then I started exploring. Flourless, gluten free chocolate cake for my Finnish friend, Chinese fried rice & Coca-cola chicken wings for student exchange party, and some simple, survivable cooked food. Jamie Oliver’s webstie was my good friend, and still it is.

To take it to the next level, I started my job in Kuala Lumpur. Having a kitchen in a shared house, I declare it my territory as no one cooks or even interested to do something in the kitchen. No fancy tools. Just some kitchenware, a stove and that’s all. Later my friend gave me a 20L oven (which I’m still using), then a 10 years old mixer from my grandma.

To take my cooking to the another level, it’s my diet. I went on a low-carb diet to loose weight. Yes, I did! I lost 5kg in 2 months time! And I feel healthier by cutting bad carbs, balanced my diet with good carbs, and eating real food.

And these are the recipes and shopping guideline you’ll find here.

Leave a comment